[social] [social_icon link="#" title="Twitter" type="twitter" /] [social_icon link="#" title="Facebook" type="facebook" /] [social_icon link="#" title="LinkedIn" type="linkedin" /] [social_icon link="#" title="Pinterest" type="pinterest" /] [social_icon link="#" title="RSS" type="rss" /] [/social]

DIY Family Travels with Kids – Itineraries | Reviews

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

[ad_1]

15 Countries from Canada to Cambodia, Iceland to Thailand, Japan to USA, Scandinavia to Indonesia (and God-willing many more!).

Cities include: Bali, Copenhagen, Helsinki, Hokkaido, Kyoto, Osaka, Penang, Queensland, , Reykjavik, Siem Reap, Tokyo.

Activities include: Ski lessons in Hokkaido, Self-Drive Iceland, Self-Drive Hokkaido, Farm stays in Taiwan, Northern-lights and Santa Claus Park in Finland.

Theme Parks include: Disneyland (Anaheim); Tokyo Disneyland, Tokyo Disneysea, Hong Kong Disneyland, Universal Studios Japan.

Tips on Travelling with kids include: How to choose adequate winter wear, how to pack, our ‘scariest’ adventure and winter driving tips to Hokkaido plus more.

Self-drive Iceland

We have always travelled with our kids, believing in creating unique core memories with them and to build their resilience as global citizens.  We felt a deep loss of opportunity cost when the borders closed in early 2020.  In just 2 years, our tween became a full-fledged teen, our child-care going toddler became an independent Primary school boy.

Now that the borders are re-opening and the world is learning to live with COVID-19, we hope this serves as record of our travels with our children thus far.  While we know that many of these are experiences that we share here are pre-COVID (and some places or experiences may no longer be around), we hope the authenticity of our sharing will serve as a good reference for families planning to resume travels.

For us, it is our hope that our children will remember the many adventures we had as ‘Ohana’ – where family means, no one gets left behind.

See more of our Travel photos and connect with us on our IG: @lifestinymiracles and @doting_dad

May your adventures bring you closer together, even as they take you far away from home.

~Trenton Lee Stewart~

America / United States

Disneyland (Anaheim): https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/05/wordless-wednesday-the-magic-of-disney/

New York: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/11/danainnyc/

Prepping Kids for New York: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2014/06/prepping-kids-for-nyc-20-great-reads/

Australia:

Adelaide:

Deep-creek Conservation Park : https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2010/01/dana-tours-adelaide-deep-creek-conservation-park/

Glenelg: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2010/01/dana-tours-adelaide-glenelg/

Melbourne: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2009/01/sq-237-danas-1st-flight-to-melbourne-we-go/

Queensland:

Australia Zoo: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/03/dana-tours-the-australia-zoo/

Strawberry Picking : https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/03/dana-tours-strawberry-fields/

Surfers’ Paradise Free & Easy: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/03/dana-tours-surfers-paradise/

Dream World: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/03/dana-tours-dream-world/

SeaWorld, Gold Coast: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/02/dana-tours-sea-world/

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2011/11/dana-tours-lone-pines-koala-sanctuary/

Siem Reap Cambodia was surprisingly family friendly!

Cambodia:

Siem Reap, Free & Easy: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2018/11/diy-siem-reap-with-kids/

Accommodation Review: Marriot Courtyard, Siem Reap: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2018/10/courtyard-at-marriot-siem-reap-review/

Canada:

Niagara Falls: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2014/09/guest-post-at-petite-travellers-somewhere-over-the-rainbow-at-niagara-falls/

Cruises:

Royal Caribbean Cruise – Quantum of the Seas: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2019/12/royal-caribbean-quantum-of-the-seas-review/

Dream Cruise – On a Dream and a Cruise: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2021/07/dream-cruises-cruise-to-nowhere-review/

Copenhagen – One of our favourite Scandinavian cities!

Denmark:

Copenhagen:

Accommodation Review – Crowne Plaza Copenhagen Towers: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/12/crowne-plaza-copenhagen-towers/

One of the most memorable experiences – to witness the Northern Lights with the kids.

Finland

DIY Northern Lights with Kids: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2022/04/diy-northern-lights-in-finland-with-kids-7d-6n/

The furthest north we’ve been – The Arctic Circle!

Hong Kong:

Ocean Park: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2010/03/dana-tours-hk-ocean-park/

HK Disneyland: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2010/03/dana-tours-hk-disneyland/

Siblings on an Icelandic Road trip

Iceland:

Self-drive Tips: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/10/iceland-self-drive-tips/

Free & Easy Iceland with Kids: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/10/diy-iceland-with-kids/

Indonesia:

Batam: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/category/holiday-moments/lets-travel/indonesia/

Our first ATV ride! Woo Hoo!

Bintan:

Accommodation Review: Club Med Bintan Review : https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/03/club-med-bintan-review/

Club Med – A Reflection: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/01/theres-no-place-like-club-med/

We can never get enough of Club Med.

Bali:

Prepping Kids for Bali: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/05/prepping-kids-for-bali/

Memories of Bali: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2009/06/back-from-bali-and-loved-it/

Accommodation Review -Alila Ubud: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/page/2/?s=Bali

Accommodation Review – Alila Manggis: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2009/07/dana-tours-bali-alila-manggis/

Bali Safari and Adventure Park: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/07/bali-for-kids-the-bali-safari-and-marine-park/

Accommodation Review – Club Med Bali – Part 1: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/02/club-med-bali-review/

Accommodation Review – Club Med Bali Part 2: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/01/a-letter-to-the-gos-of-club-med-bali-kids-club/

Accommodation Review – Le Meridien, Jimbaran Review: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/08/bali-for-kids-the-le-meridien-bali-jimbaran-hotel/

Bali Treetop Adventure Park: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/07/bali-for-kids-bali-treetop-adventure-park/

Accommodation Review – Mari River Safari Lodge: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/07/bali-for-kids-mara-river-safari-lodge/

Wild Dolphin Spotting at Lovina: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/07/bali-for-kids-dolphins-at-laid-back-lovina/

We love Hokkaido. 3 times and counting!

Japan:

Prepping Kids for Japan – Books on Japan for kids: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/06/books-on-japan-for-kids/

Summer Itinerary: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/05/japan-trip-report-2015/

Theme Parks:

Tokyo Disneysea:  https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/07/tokyo-disneysea/

Tokyo Disneyland: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/07/diy-japan-maximising-your-day-at-tokyo-disneyland/

Universal Studios Japan: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/11/usj/

Tokyo:

Tokyo Tsukiji Market and Cupnoodle Museum: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/07/tokyo-tsukiji-market-and-cupnoodle-museum/

Asakusa, Sumida and Odaiba Free & Easy itinerary: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/07/asakusa-sumida-and-odaiba-tokyo-japan/

Childhood is fleeting and will never return.

Hakone:

Hakone Part 1 – Surviving my first onsen:https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/08/diy-japan-surviving-the-hakone-onsen/

Hakone  – Part 2: The Little Prince Museum and Botanical Gardens of Wetlands : https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/09/hakone-botanical-garden-of-wetlands-the-little-prince-museum/

Hakone – Part 3 https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/09/diy-japan-hakone-part-3-beautiful-hakone/

Kyoto:

Free & Easy Kyoto: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/02/diy-japan-kyoto/

Osaka:

Osaka & Nara: Free & Easy Itinerary: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/11/diy-japan-osaka-and-nara/

Accommodation Review – Swisshotel Nankai hotel review: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/12/swissotel-nankai-osaka-hotel/

Driving in wintry Hokkaido? Read our experience first!

Hokkaido:

Hokkaido Winter Driving Tips: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/01/driving-in-hokkaido-winter/

Accommodation Review – Hokkaido Ski Resorts – a comparison: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2018/07/hokkaido-ski-resorts/

Hokkaido, The Complete Free & Easy Itinerary: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/07/hokkaido-diy-holiday/

Niseko: Where to eat: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/07/where-to-eat-in-niseko/

Asahiyama Zoo: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/05/hokkaido-asahiyama-zoo/

Hokkaido is our favourite skiing ‘playground’

Hanazono – Learn Skiing with NISS: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2019/12/skiing-in-niseko-niss/

Niseko (Grand Hirafu) – GoSnow Ski School: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/02/go-snow-niseko/

Niseko (Grand Hirafu) – Learn skiing in Niseko: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2020/01/skiing-in-niseko/

Accommodation Review –  Niseko, Ki Niseko Hotel Review: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/03/ki-niseko-hotel-review/

Accommodation Review – Rusutsu Resort Review: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2018/03/rusutsu-resort/

Accommodation Review – Sapporo  – Keio Plaza Hotel Review: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/04/keio-plaza-sapporo-review/

Accommodation Review – Tomamu, Hoshino Resort Review: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2018/02/hoshino-tomamu-hokkaido/

Accommodation Review – Tomamu, Hoshino Resorts VLogs: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2018/02/hoshino-resorts-tomamu-vlogs/

In the end, kids won’t remember that fancy toy you bought them, they will remember the time you spent with them.

~Kevin Heath~

Wintry white Hokkaido. Enchanting!

South Korea:

Korea Trip Review: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/02/wordless-wednesday-korea-gangnam-style/

Jeju Island: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/01/wordless-wednesday-in-love-with-jeju/

Trickeye Museum: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/01/photo-heart-fridays-abbey-road-crossing/

We seriously love Taiwan!

Taiwan:

Free and Easy Taiwan https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/09/around-the-world-in-18-days-taiwan/

LeoFoo Resort: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2014/10/banana-returns-totaiwan-first-stop-leofoo-resort-guanshi-taiwan/

Free & Easy Taiwan – 5D4N Itinerary for Families : https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2018/09/5-days-taiwan-itinerary/

Thailand:

Bangkok:

Bangkok Beyond Malls and Massages: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/05/bangkok-things-to-do/

Bangkok Safari World: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/11/bangkok-safari-world/

Bangkok Airplane Graveyard: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/08/bangkok-airplane-graveyard/

KidZania Bangkok: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/05/bangkok-things-to-do/

TrueLove Husky Café, Bangkok: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/08/bangkok-husky-cafe/

Siem Ocean World: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/10/dana-tours-siam-ocean-world/

Accommodation Review – Intercontinental Hotel, Bangkok: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/03/bkk-intercontinental-hotel/

Accommodation Review – So Sofitel Hotel, Bangkok: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/01/so-sofitel-bangkok/

Accommodation Review – Le Meridien, Suvarnabhumi.  Bangkok: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/11/le-meridien-suvarnabhumi-bangkok/

Accommodation Review – Siam Kempinski Bangkok: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/01/siam-kempinski-bangkok-review/

Erawan Tea Room, Bangkok: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/10/foodie-friday-thai-afternoon-tea/

Phuket:

Free and Easy Phuket: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2010/09/dana-tours-phuket-sawadee-ka/

Phuket Highlights: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2010/08/video-of-phuket-highlights/

Accommodation Review – Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Kao Beach: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/10/holiday-inn-resort-phuket-mai-khao-beach-review/

Accommodation Review – Holiday Inn Phuket Patong Beach: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/09/holiday-inn-phuket-patong-review/

Not all classrooms have four walls.

~Anonymous~

Zipping around in Daddy’s hometown – Penang!

Malaysia:

Johor:

Angrybird Park: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/08/angry-birds-park-johor-bahru/

Desaru: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2019/11/diy-desaru-with-kids/

Legoland: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/10/legoland-malaysia-halloween-2017/

Legoland – 20 Things To Do. : https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2012/11/top-20-things-to-do-in-legoland-malaysia-part-3/

Accommodation Review – Legoland Hotel: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2014/03/legoland-hotel-malaysia-the-final-brick-for-a-complete-lego-experience/

Legoland Waterpark – Part 1: Guide to all rides: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/10/legoland-water-park-malaysia-part-1-a-guide-to-all-the-rides/

Legoland Waterpark – Part 2: Amenities:  https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/11/legoland-water-park-malaysia-part-2-the-amenities/

Accommodation Review – Doubletree Hilton, Johor: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/09/angry-bird-doubletree-by-hilton-johor-bahru/

Kuala Lumpur:

Eating in KL: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/09/happy-food-in-kl/

Accommodation Review – One World Hotel: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/09/one-world-hotel-kuala-lumpur/

Accommodation Review  – Capri by Fraser: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/04/capribyfraserkl/

Accommodation Review – The Majestic Hotel: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/03/hotel-majestic-kl/

KidZania KL: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/09/12-tips-to-maximise-your-day-at-kidzania-kuala-lumpur/

Dimsum in KL: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2013/05/all-day-dimsum-in-kl/

Cameron Highlands: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2011/09/dana-tours-cameron-highlands/

Malacca: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2009/05/dana-tours-malacca/

Penang:

Free & Easy Penang: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2015/10/penangattractions/

Accommodation Review  – Doubletree Hilton: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2019/05/doubletree-resort-hilton-penang/

Escape Park: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2019/10/diy-penang-with-kids-escape-park-review/

Accommodation Review  – Golden Sands Hotel, Penang: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2014/12/golden-sands-resort-penang-review/

Accommodation Review  – Holiday Inn Resort, Penang: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/09/holiday-inn-resort-penang/

Maldives! The place where every beach resort wants to emulate.

Maldives:

Club Med Kani: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2019/07/club-med-kani-maldives-review/

Holiday-Inn Kandooma: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2019/08/holiday-inn-kandooma-maldives/

Kids won’t remember the best day of television.

~Anonymous~

Hamlet’s Castle, Denmark. Where we saw literature come to life.

General Travel Tips

Building Holidays with Kids: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2019/11/build-a-holiday/

Travelling during COVID – Tips and Experience: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2022/01/what-and-how-to-prepare-for-vtl-travel/

Tips for Travelling with Kids – from infant to Primary school: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2016/07/tips-travelling-children/

Travelling with Kids –  Why we do it:

Staying Connected while Travelling: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2017/12/crowne-plaza-copenhagen-towers/

Dressing Kids for Winter:

Scariest Moments from our Travels: https://www.lifestinymiracles.com/2014/11/scariest-momentsfrom-our-travels/

When you travel with children, you are giving away something that can never be taken away. Experience, exposure, and way of life.

~Pamela T. Chandler~



[ad_2]

Source link

Share.

Comments are closed.